Vanilla Yogurt Cakes

25 Feb
"You are a beautiful pancake. You will be with me tonight."

"You are a beautiful pancake. You will be with me tonight."

The griddle was cold last weekend. Busy travel schedule meant skipping cakes and going for two this weekend instead. There are worse things.

Once more, the cakes this week were largely born of something I hate–yogurt. I like the idea of yogurt, and believe wholeheartedly in its place in one’s diet. Just not mine. That has everything to do with smell and taste, at least when talking about yogurt by its lonesome. Yogurt in things, however, is a totally different story. A woman I work with brought in an awesome homemade lemon blueberry bread that included yogurt this week, and I was reminded once more of how delightful it is in baked goods.

These may be the easiest cakes I’ve made to date, and they may also be our favorites at this point in the endeavor. Light, yet filling, fluffy, yet chewy, we all wished I had made a larger batch (I halved what you see below). But alas. One thing I’ll call out is the milk’s role in the batter. It’s noted below, but just gently fold healthy splashes until you reach your desired consistency. The stickier your batter, the lighter and fluffier your cakes, essentially, so be mindful of your endgame. That’s how I did mine, and they were damn good.

The flipside of that, though, is that the batter is a little tricky getting from ladle to griddle. You’ll need to spread the batter a bit so the young cakes don’t just dollop and quickly become unruly–spatula skills be damned–with the heat. And yes, as always, I understand we’re talking pancakes here, and I’ve already thought/imparted too much on this topic. But you’re the one still reading. Don’t look at me.

Also, please stay far away from crappy yogurt for this recipe. It’s your base, and makes the whole thing click. I can’t speak to the merits of a soy yogurt cake for folks who may be unable to do dairy (sorry), but I think we can all agree that low-fat anything, while it may have its place, is a ridiculous notion for a pancake. It’s like really wanting a beer and then ordering a Miller Lite. Do it or don’t do it, but definitely don’t do it half-ass.

Score!

Score!

As for the boy? Pics at right say it all.

Onward.

Pants: Yes. Apparently I’m supposed to be some kind of example all of the sudden. That was not part of the deal.

Planning: Absolutely none.

Gathering: Just picking out the yogurt, which, for a guy who doesn’t do yogurt, is confusing as hell. I may have cried a little under the weight of all those choices. A nice employee at my local food co-op taught what “cream top” was, though, and all was good after that. Still don’t like the sound of “cream top” one bit, but I’ll look the other way on it.

Execution: Nothing really of note other than what I already mentioned up top–consistency issues and subsequent need for deftness in your griddling.

Results: There may have been a scrum for the last cake. (And by “scrum” I mean I stole it when no one was looking.)

Crossover Potential: Just endless possibilities for toppings, fruits and/or nuts for the batter, different yogurts as your base, and on and on.

The cakes recipe:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (organic)
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar (organic, pure-cane)
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 large egg (cage-free)
  • 2 cups vanilla yogurt (Kalona Super Natural)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • Whole milk (organic) in splashes until batter reaches desired consistency
  • Organic nonstick spray (no butter this week!)
  1. Preheat oven to 170 degrees, or engage warmer drawer
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together all the dries
  3. In a separate bowl, lightly beat the egg, then add the rest of the wet ingredients and combine
  4. Add wets to dries, gently folding to combine
  5. Preheat your griddle to about 325 degrees and coat surface with nonstick spray
  6. Ladle batter onto griddle using a 1/3 measuring cup, thinning as best you can, flipping after about 2-3 minutes
  7. Keep completed cakes warm in the oven while you prepare the rest
Leave a Reply

