Gingerbread Cakes

31 Dec
Spicy batter

Spicy batter

Our long national nightmare is over. The holidays have passed, the calendar has steadied, and The Griddler has raised the spatula once more. Worried, weren’t you? Don’t be. As Nice & Smooth assured us all in the 90s, there ain’t a damn thing changed. Welcome back.

And since last weekend was nonexistent given the travels and the making merry and all, this is but one of two posts you’ll find here this weekend, one for our regularly scheduled Sunday, and the other a make-up. (This is where wacky FM DJ pops in with the “two, two, two for the weekend!”)

Today’s offering is what I had wanted to squeeze into the Christmas weekend, a gingerbread pancake recipe that has been in the hopper for quite some time. I am not a real big gingerbread fan, and neither is my wife. But part of the spirit of the endeavor here is to spread our wings a bit, to strike out into new pancake frontiers and throw caution to the wind once in a while. So we did.

Really, the recipe you see below is barely changed from its source (referenced in the link at post’s end). I included mine anyway, as there were a couple of variations, and mine was halved from the original. I’ll say this–these things are damn spicy. If you are at all averse to cloves or ginger, tread lightly with those ingredients, perhaps even halving your spices in lieu of extra brown sugar or something. I’m not one for cloves myself. I, uh, heard from a, er, friend one time that they had some past experience with clove cigarettes. Apparently, according to that friend, the sensation it leaves in the mouth is interesting. I’m totally guessing here, but the feeling left after a bite of these cakes may be similar to that. It’s kind of like the taste buds are dancing, which isn’t a bad thing. Just odd if you aren’t used to it.

Anyway, all in all, I really liked them. My wife, not so much. And the kid? He’s wired enough without kicking him some coffee (which is an ingredient with these), in whatever amount. And the cloves? Well, he can wait until his own “friend” tries a clove smoke some day to tell him how it feels in the mouth.

Onward.

Pants: I had just finished a run, so wore only those skin tight doohickeys that look ridiculous but are oh-so-warm. So, pants-ish, I guess. The boy was napping, and had conked out in pants so in pants he slept–poor sucker.

Planning: Not much–just the math involved with the halving.

Gathering: Just a replenishment of the buttermilk.

Execution: The flour amount is a bit weird, and frankly, I don’t know how much I ended up using (though it wasn’t nearly as much as the recipe had called for). I thought their amount looked high, so I started with about half that (or half of the half, in my case), added the liquids, and then slowly folded in more flour until it thickened to the right consistency. How much that ended up being, I can’t quite say. Just dance with it.

Results: Thumbs up, or at least my thumbs. My wife came in with a serious bias against the whole recipe, so I’m ignoring her negative feedback.

Crossover Potential: Gingerbread pancake house? I don’t know; I’m reaching here.

The cakes recipe:

  • *1.5 eggs (cage-free)
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar (organic)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (Kalona Supernatural Buttermilk)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/8 cup brewed coffee (I used St. Louis Blues from Iowa City’s Java House)
  • 1.25 cups all-purpose flour (organic)
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/2 Tbsp. nutmeg (fresh ground)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. cinnamon (organic)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. ginger
  • 2 Tbsp. melted butter
  1. Preheat griddle to 350 degrees
  2. Mix egg and brown sugar until completely combined; add in buttermilk, water, and brewed coffee and mix anew
  3. In separate bowl, combine all the rest of the ingredients, save for the melted butter
  4. Add the liquid ingredients (minus the butter) to the dries and mix until combined
  5. Pour melted butter over top of batter and just fold it in
  6. Ladle batter onto griddle using 1/3 measuring cup
  7. Wait for bubbles to appear (about 3 minutes), then flip and cook other side for roughly 2 minutes more
  8. Lacquer and use for the framework of your tragically uneaten gingerbread pancake house (or add pure maple syrup and enjoy)
*To get 1.5 eggs, I lightly scrambled three and just poured half into my mixing bowl–perhaps there’s a better way, but that was my method
2 Responses to “Gingerbread Cakes”

  1. Amber Cummer December 31, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    blek

  2. Annie December 31, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    My imagination is working overtime.

Leave a Reply

