Carrot Cakes with Sweet Neufchâtel Spread

11 Dec
Carrot cakes

Carrot cakes

The Griddler has taken ill. If you encountered someone lying face-down, flat as a board on the sidewalk this weekend, it was not an extension of the planking meme, nor one of our city’s thousands of college students resting their eyes in the Ped Mall. No, that would have been me, whacked out on cold meds and eating some concrete while I waited to regain consciousness. It’s been that kind of several days around here. At many times lately, I have felt like Jim Morrison in the “desert” looking for my spirit guide. I even mistook my son for a raccoon earlier this morning and had him taken away by animal control. But worry not–this delirium too shall pass…as soon as that kangaroo stops telling me to take my temperature again.

It’s a good thing I have most of the next several months of cakes planned out, because that crudely scribbled-upon piece of notebook paper was my only tether to reality in my stupor. It spelled out exactly what I needed, which was a start. I was able to sense my way to my food co-op, like a rat relying solely on muscle memory through the darkened warehouse he’s long occupied. Measurements proved difficult, but I managed, and in the end came away with some damn good cakes.

We chose to make the cakes early and refrigerate them for dessert later, as well as for breakfast for a couple of days hereafter. These buggers really aren’t too bad for you, and the copious carrot in them has to amount for something in the daily ascent of the food pyramid. That we sullied them with sweet cheese spread is not lost upon us, but it’s Sunday, and Sunday is no day for calorie vigilance in our household.

One note: These cakes are unbelievably easy, except for the relatively time consuming aspect of processing the carrots. You’ll want to clean them well, cut them small with your knife, and chop small batches at a time unless you have a much more powerful food processor than ours. It’s a bit of a guess as to how many carrots will get you to your 2+ cups–for me it was about 15, though they were bunch carrots, so smaller (and much juicier) than the behemoths at many big supermarkets.

I have very little else to say, except to wish on a star for me. Like a cat, I want only to be alone when I’m failing, and there’s a shrub that looks mighty inviting right out the window here. Mahalo.

Pants: On, but only because I forgot to take them off, which is its own kind of sad all together. What about my son? What son?

Planning: I love lamp.

Gathering: Yes.

Execution: I don’t believe in it, no.

Results: Yes.

Crossover Potential: Yes.

The cakes recipe:

  • 1.25 cups all-purpose flour (organic)
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten (cage-free)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla (organic)
  • 1 cup whole milk (organic)
  • 1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar (organic)
  • 2.25 cups carrots chopped finely in food processor (organic)
  1. Preheat griddle to 350 degrees
  2. If you’re eating these hot, preheat your oven to 160, or engage your warmer drawer
  3. Combine dry ingredients, except brown sugar, in large bowl
  4. In separate, smaller bowl, mix rest of ingredients together completely
  5. Add carrot mixture to the dry ingredients and fold together until mixed
  6. Butter griddle and ladle batter onto it using a 1/4 measuring cup
  7. Watch for bubbles and flip, roughly 2-3 minutes per side until golden brown
And the spread recipe:
  • 8 oz. package of Neufchâtel cheese, room temperature
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla (organic)
  • 1/4 sugar (organic, pure-cane)
  • Dash each of cinnamon, nutmeg, all spice, and ginger
  • Splash of whole milk
  1. Combine in bowl and mix using handheld mixer until smooth

Note: Recipe adapted from http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/all-american-festivals/carrot-pancakes-with-cream-cheese-spread-recipe/index.html

2 Responses to “Carrot Cakes with Sweet Neufchâtel Spread”

  1. Amber Cummer December 12, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Despite your state of mind, these were great! Chewy and just the right amount of carrots to give it a little flavor. Nice to finally have some “healthy” cakes.

  2. Susan December 14, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    I hate to say this, and I hope you are feeling better, but your delirium makes me smile. And I really needed a reason to smile today. So I thank you. And apologize.

Leave a Reply

